El Salvador Journal: Part I

1964899_10152272882311550_673637948_nSo, I’ve been struggling with whether or not to write up my journal I wrote while in El Salvador, which you’ll learn why at the end of the series. I’ve been thinking a lot about everything that happened- positives, negatives, the scenery (the photo in this post was taken on the top of some mountain I forget the name of), and all the things I was able to learn while being in an underdeveloped country for the first time. I want to tell the story because I did, by and large, have an amazing time.

So, here it goes.

(Note: This was all written on my iPhone, which magically survived the trip. Some have timestamps and overall they were pretty short entries. Some will be more interesting than others)

 

3/16/2014 (1:49pm EST) – On the way to El Salvador – Syracuse, Atlanta, San Salvador. 

“Since someone from SUNY Oswego was going to be picking me up at my apartment at 2:30am to head to our flight in Syracuse, I thought it would be better if I just didn’t go to bed.

I’m beginning to regret that decision, though I have been able to fall asleep now and again on the flight from Syracuse to Atlanta.

The group, Tim, Andrew, Ryan, Courtney, and I, had some breakfast at the airport in Atlanta and hung out until our flight. We were all still a little too tired to get to know one another, though we didn’t take any time in ragging on Ryan; he was the last one to get to Syracuse’s airport.

I am currently on the flight from Atlanta to San Salvador, and having already took a quick snooze ealier in the flight and read half of the book I need for class next week, I thought I would get started on writing a journal of this trip.

I am excited for this opportunity to go to a place I find so interesting. Central America will be different, but I look forward to learning about the culture and the people. I want to let them know I am not just another American on a vacation, rather, that I am someone who is generally interested in who they are and what they represent.

I also hope that I am able to grow as a person, something I think has happened already, and I didn’t even get there yet.

After reading most of my book, “Harry Potter and History,” and taking notes in the margins and front of the book, I have come to a realization: I am becoming a real historian. The book isn’t very complicated, but it does take an ability to analyze and process what the writers are trying to put together. It’s helped me better understand historical context in novels, giving me a more broard overview of what constitutes being historical.

Anyway, I have some forms to fill out for customs. See you on the ground.”

1 Comment

Filed under Thoughts

One response to “El Salvador Journal: Part I

  1. Alison

    Look forward to reading more,

Leave a Reply

