What Does A Job Mean to Me?: An Open Cover Letter

To whom it may concern;

My name is Jon Zella and I am applying for a job at your institution/organization. I found this job after hours of scouring the internet choosing a city and a place of employment that allow me to grow professionally and personally. Our missions and morals align, and even if I am not fully qualified, I have acquired the skills necessary to pick up what I need to do to complete tasks at hand.

I have had a lot of experiences over the last few years. Some directly related to you and others that were good experiences that have made me a better person. Despite my age, 23, I have done a lot and plan to do even more. Sure, I am new to the full time job market, but that does not mean I am not capable.

Personally, I need to be busy. All the time. I need to be challenged, to manage my time correctly, to have multiple things going on at once, and to do more than make someone’s schedule and send emails. This is probably why I am not applying for an entry level position with 0 to 1 year(s) of experience that will leave me unfulfilled when I leave the office everyday despite giving me a foot in the door to the career path I am interested in. If I am applying for your job, it is because I think it will challenge me to learn, to grow, and require me to do so in order to succeed and become a professional in that field.

I want to be involved, to work in groups, to work alone, and to combine everything I know to make sure I am doing the best job possible. I want to be put in a position to succeed and to prove myself.

Most importantly, if I am applying for your job, it is because I have a feeling that I will learn to love what your institution/organization has to offer to its constituents. Contrary to what many people believe, there are a lot of jobs out there. I chose your institution/organization because, well, I like it. It looks cool, I like the projects, exhibits, programs, events, and topics that you cover. I like what the job description will have me do on a daily basis and can only hope that “other duties as assigned” means I will be given a chance to work on big projects from time to time.

Thank you for your time and consideration. I hope I hear from you soon to set up an interview because, honestly, meeting me in person will help show you how interested I am in this position.

Warmest regards,

Jon Zella

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “What Does A Job Mean to Me?: An Open Cover Letter

  1. Good luck with your job search! I hope you find the right opportunity; one that allows you to be fulfilled and get your foot in the door. Don’t stop believing that you can do all you wish to achieve.

Leave a Reply

