Thought Provoking Words

My grandpa is in rehab after his knee surgery and I can’t call his room directly because he doesn’t like to talk on the phone. I’ve only spoken to him on the phone a few times and the last couple of times wasn’t in English, it was in Italian. I usually settle for calling my grandma and getting updates on how he’s doing. I haven’t had too many deep conversations with him and he hasn’t ever said anything that stuck with me. That doesn’t mean I don’t have plenty of memories with him; I have a lot of good times that I’ll carry with me for a long time, especially as a kid and before I went to visit our family in Italy. 

Anyway, the last time I called was different. My grandpa isn’t happy about still being in the hospital and he told my grandma, “I never thought the end of my life would be like this. I never thought it would be in a hospital. I always imagined being healthy at home.”

I don’t know why, but this has been running through my head lately. We’ve never been super close, but I spent a lot of time with my grandma and grandpa as a kid in their store. I can’t remember a time they said, “I love you” or anything mushy like that. My dad said they’re just not like that, which is fine, but it’s very different than my other grandparents. My connection with them is one of cultural and familial roots, something that is very important to me. 

I’m going to see him on Thursday with my aunt and I’m excited to raise his spirits.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

