My Calling

Everyone says they want to help people less fortunate than themselves; to make a difference in the world, though saying and doing are two very different things.

As I think about what it is I want to do with my life, I can’t help but return to my childhood.

When I was growing up on Long Island, I spent a lot of time in New York City. My grandma, who lives in Manhattan, would take me to Central Park to climb on the rocks and watch people play baseball, Chelsea Piers to go ice skating, and our favorite barbecue place on 8th avenue, Dallas Barbecue.

I have fond memories of the Big Apple, most of which are dreams of one day living amongst the most eloquent skyline in the world.

Unfortunately, what I remember the most is passing by countless homeless people as we made are way around the City. (Yes, THE City. Your city is just A city.) All I wanted to do was figure out a way to help them and make them better and those thoughts have stuck with me all these years later.

As much as I’m a big believer in making your own way, much like my family did coming to the United States in the early 20th century, I also believe that some people just need help.

That’s what I want to make sure I do: help. Help in any way I can, even if it isn’t directly with the homeless. Help build a community center or start a kid’s camp. Help make whatever community I live in better for those who live there. Help build work ethic and pride. Just help.

I hope I get the opportunity to do that because it would make me feel fulfilled, happy, and driven to succeed.

I guess I’ll have to wait and see.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

