Mixed feelings: When is it time to move on?

I’ve defended Oswego for a long time. Anytime someone said there was nothing to do, I had a list of reasons why it was the place to be. Whenever I left, I wanted to come back. I always said, “This place has a charm, it just takes you in.”

Lately, however, I’ve been feeling like maybe Oswego is just something I’m used to; something I know so well, making it part of who I am. I know to take, or not to take, certain roads at specific times of the day, which place has the best beer selection, where the best spots are to hang out by the lake, and who makes the best wings. Bartenders at my local watering hole, The Raven, even know what my favorite drinks are. It feels like home because I’ve made it my home. 

This city needs a lot of work, and I’m not saying I want to run away tomorrow, but unfortunately I don’t see myself here for years and years to come. I want to stay here a while longer, maybe start my professional career and live cheap for a while, then see where it takes me. I want to be committed to making this city better; to making it somewhere I would want to live for a long time. But right now, 20-something year old Jon needs a little more and you know what – it’s time for me to be selfish. 

I want to start my life here: get on my feet, get a decent job, have some fun, and move on when the time is right. I look forward to the day where I get to learn to love a city the way I learned to love Oswego; to learn which bars have the best beer; to learn about the people, the roads, and the restaurants; to learn why other people love it.

Like I said, I’m not running away tomorrow, and to be perfectly honest I’ll probably be here longer than I think. Who knows what happens in the next year or so. Maybe a job pops up I can’t refuse and I stay a while. I’ll leave that up to chance for now and work hard regardless. 

Right now, Oswego is home and I’m happy to be here. But I’ll always think about the day that I move somewhere else. 

One day I will. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

